UCIBIO in the news

A new study led by José Paulo Sampaio, Professor at Faculdade de Ciências e Tecnologia of Universidade NOVA de Lisboa (FCT-NOVA), shows surprising results in the domestication event of Ale beer yeasts, being very distinct from the domestication event of wine yeasts.
Isabel Moura, José Moura, Sofia Pauleta and Luisa Maia, from UCIBIO at FCT-NOVA, Biological Chemistry Group, edited a book of the RSC Metallobiology Series from The Royal Society of Chemistry on "Metalloenzymes in Denitrification: Applications and Environmental Imp
Six programme-contracts have been awarded to researchers at UCIBIO, in the scope of the 2015 FCT Investigator Programme: Cristina González, Cláudia Nunes Pinho, Fábio Fernandes, Filipa Marcelo, Hugo Santos e Maria Filomena Freitas.
On March 8th 2016, International Women's Day, the national agency Ciência Viva honoured 103 scientist women in Portugal in the book Mulheres na Ciência. It is a tribute to the scientists’ women in Portugal, whose contribution has been a key to the progress of national science and technology. We are very proud to have 4 scientists from UCIBIO being honoured:
Scientists at UCIBIO, FCT, Universidade NOVA de Lisboa have demonstrated for the first time the potential use of smart nanomaterials for the effective modulation of angiogenesis in vivo.
NOVA university featured in QS World University Rankings
An important finding has been published today in Chemistry - A European Journal by Filipa Marcelo, from the Bio-NMR group at UCIBIO in Lisbon, led by Eurico Cabrita, professor at the Chemistry Department at FCT-UNL.
Today, September 15, is the first meeting of the project “Integrated Platform for de novo Design and Development of a Chimeric Enzyme for high-value chemicals” (CHImerASE) granted by European Research Area (ERA) Industrial Biotechnology. The project involves a translational cooperation between Austria, Germany and Portugal.